Printer Version

    The awards program was begun in 1987 with a grant from the National Endowment for the arts. With the 2015 program, there will have been 28 years of recognition of top urban waterfront work from around the world, totaling approximately 370  activities. The Center is seeking funding to enable it to put all of the winners on its Web site. Each entry will be illustrated, described and current contact information provided. The work will be accessible by award year, type of project and geography.


 CONGRATULATIONS to one and all

2016 Winners of the Waterfront Center Excellence on the Waterfront Awards are now in the search database.
Go HERE and enter 2016 into the search box
      We are pleased to announce this year's winners selected by our interdisciplinary jury that met in Cape May, N.J. July 29 and 30. We publicly thank them for generously giving of their time and talent. 

    We also thank all of those who submitted entries. As is always the case, much good work was not selected this year but we will be encouraging folks to re-enter in 2017 - our 30th awards program!
    The 2016 Jury: from l-r: Ray Gastil, planning director, City of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Kim Mathews, principal, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects, New York, New York, Charles Flynn, executive director, Yuma Cross National Heritage Area, Yuma, Arizona, jury chair and Werner Plessl, executive director, Hamilton Waterfront Trust, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.
    NEW FOR 2016! Since the the October 21st awards event is being expanded to half a day so the attendees will not only witness the awards ceremony, but also hear first-hand presentations by the winners, we decided to publish the list to give you a sneak peak. Several of the winners have already responded that will attend and present. We will give a list of the presenters in future blasts and list them on the web site. This promises to be a very interesting mini-conference. A champagne reception will wind up the day at The Churchill, a boutique hotel on Connecticut Avenue.. Fee will include conference attendance and the reception. 

Mini Conference details can be found HERE and a sign up form HERE.   
    The 2016 “EXCELLENCE ON THE WATERFRONT” awards program, organized by the non-profit Waterfront Center of Washington, D.C., features 10 winning entries from a universe of 48, plus one citizen’s award. This year’s jury, meeting in July in Cape May, N.J.. made two Top Honor selections. They are:
 A Vision for the Willamette Falls Legacy Project
City of Oregon City, Oregon, Top Honor Plan. Submitted by Ken Pirie, Walker Macy, Portland, Oregon, and Chritina Robertson-Gardiner, City of Oregon City, Oregon.  
 Buffalo Bayou Park

Houston, Texas, Top Honor Project. Submitted by Kinder Baumgardner, SWA Group and Anne Olson, Buffalo Bayou Partnership, both Houston, Texas

 Honor Awards in alphabetical order:

 Chicago Riverwalk/State Street to LaSalle Street
Chicago, Illinois. Submitted by Gina Ford, Sasaki Associates Inc., Watertown, Massachusetts and Carol Ross Barney, Ross Barney Architects, Chicago, Illinois, and Michael Claffey, Chicago Department of Transportation, Chicago.
 Daylighting the Saw Mill River, Van der Donck Park
 Yonkers, New York. Submitted by William Kuhl, Saratoga Associates, New York, New York and the Mayors Office, City of Yonkers, New York.  
 Menomonee Valley Industrial Center and Community Park
 Milwaukee, Wisconsin. Submitted by William E. Wenk, Wenk Associates Inc., Denver, Colorado, Dave Misky, Redevelopment Authority of the City of Milwaukee, and Corey Zetts, Menomonee Valley Partners, both Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
 Principal Riverwalk Pump Station
 Des Moines, Iowa. Submitted by Paul Mankins,, substancearchitecture and Pam Cooksey, City of Des Moines Engineering Department, both Des Moines, Iowa.
 River Forest Island
  BaJiZhou, Changsha, Hunan Province, China. Submitted by Xiao Zheng, SWA Group, Laguna Beach, California and Xi Yun, Xiangjiang New City District Administration Commission, Changsha, Hunan Province, China
 The Rockaway Boardwalk Reconstruction
 Rockaway, Queens, New York. Submitted by Jonathan Goldstick, CH2M and Dan Colangione, New York City Economic Development Corp., both New York, New York.
 St. Patrick’s Island Park
 Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Submitted by Civitas, Inc., Denver, Colorado, W Architecture & Landscape Architecture LLC, Brooklyn, New York. and Calgary Municipal Land Corporation, Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
 Sims Sunset Park Material Recovery Facility
 Brooklyn, New York. Submitted by Annabelle Selldorf, Selldorf Architects, New York, New York., and Tom Outerbridge, Sims Municipal Recycling, Brooklyn, New York.
 Clearwater Citizen’s Award
 The Ernst Trail Group, Meadville City, Vernon Township and Union Township, Pennsylvania. Formed in 1995, volunteers have worked to establish a recreational trail including a covered bridge built mostly with volunteer labor.


Serving on the 2016 jury were:

• Charles Flynn, executive director, Yuma Crossing National Heritage Area, Yuma, Arizona, jury chair.

• Ray Gastil, director, Department of City Planning, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

• Kim Mathews, principal, Mathews Nielsen Landscape Architects, P.C., New York, New York.

• Werner Plessl, executive director, Hamilton Waterfront Trust, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.


The Waterfront Center announces winners of the 2014

“Excellence on the Waterfront” Program

Click here to see the 2014 Awards Presentation 

2014 Jury Listing

Joel Mills, director, American Institute of Architects/Communities by Design, jury chair, 
Mike Dawson, CEO, River Alliance.Columbia, South Carolina 
Luis Cantante de Matos, chief engineer, Luanda Waterfront Project, Luanda, Angola 
Margot Long, principal, PWL Partnership Landscape Architects, Inc., Vancouver, British Columbia 
Jeff Parks, president, ArtsQuest, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Awards Search Engine



Check out this and previous year award winners.  Click on booklet covers to view.




These publications are available for purchase.  Click on Books.


Click here to see the 2010 Awards Presentation

The 24th Annual Excellence on the Waterfront Awards Program

2010 Jury


e-mail:        © 2007 The Waterfront Center
Content and photographs on this site may not be reproduced without express permission from The Waterfront Center.